24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Unexplainable Alternator Voltage issues

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2016, 09:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unexplainable Alternator Voltage issues

I'm having an issue with my alternator, and I don't know exactly how to explain it..so there's a video of it. I am experiencing symptoms of ac noise leakage while driving. Any ideas? I'm not a voltage expert, but is this a "closed loop" situation? I'm getting massive ac noise differences based on what I'm grounding to..and I don't exactly know how to start working on this.

It's worth noting that this is a new alternator from Nation's, a seemingly reputable alternator manufacturer..and all voltage is within spec, as long as I ground to the battery? I'm at a loss here.
Old 10-27-2016, 02:36 PM

Received 141 Likes on 107 Posts
Kudos to the video but this is the way I test it. Never run off the batteries as they act as filters to what you may or may not read. Always run off the alternator post and ground to the alternator housing. In saying that, a bad battery cell will skew readings as well and force the charging system to work overtime, so make sure they're both in tip top condition.

The Alternator should be putting out the correct DC voltage but the PCM is what determines what voltage the batteries see based on a few variables, like IAT and battery temp.

Also, checking the AC voltage at idle is important but to fully understand AC voltage levels, you need to turn on every electronic device in the truck (lights, AC with fan on high, radio, etc.) and then have someone ramp the throttle up to about 2000-2500 RPM while you have you read the tester. The AC voltage will increase significantly as the alternator is loaded, and what it gets to is what you want to know. That said, the hotter it is outside, the AC noise will typically increase.