24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Idles okay...touch the accelerator...rev city?!

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2007, 09:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Idles okay...touch the accelerator...rev city?!

I am a newbie to diesels. A couple of months ago I bought a 99 Quad with the Edge EZD1000. It starts fine and idles normal. When I barely touch the accelerator the RPM's go through the roof. It's like the turbo thinks it's under load. I disconnected the EZD but no change. It was intermittent a couple of weeks ago and now it is here to stay.

I have read a couple of threads referring to a dead peddle or the opposite a wide open throttle. This seems different. The other cases I read seem to occur briefly when tooling down the road.

Any help is appreciated.
Old 05-08-2007, 12:35 AM

Go see if you have any codes. You'll need a scanner for this. I'd guess that the APPS has an issue. Does it do this while driving, or just in neutral/park? Also, go up to your User CP, and fill out your sig, so we all know what you're running. Welcome to DTR!
Old 05-08-2007, 09:06 PM

No codes (at least no check engine). I have tried to run through the cycling of the ingition to show codes but have not been successful in doing this.

I've also tried the APPS reset procedure in the tech section without any effect.
https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/...n&onlynewfaq=1

Tate: (Thanks for the DTR welcome...I've updated my sig.) The symptoms are present in gear or out. While driving when depressing the accelerator the turbo spools up okay once the RPMs are up a bit the whole drivetrain lurches/lunges--like an underpowered gas burner when releasing the clutch.