1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

What did you do to your Gen 1 today?

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2018, 08:09 AM

Received 1,637 Likes on 1,112 Posts
When I worked as a wrench, 30 plus years ago, we had this tester, which would not only tell us the condition of the battery, but also the charging system. I know you have your digital meter inside the cab now, but I would like to see this on the battery, before you start it, and during the initial morning start up. See what is happening, at the battery cables during start up and the first minute or two. See if its corresponding to what you see at the meter in the cab.

Really crazy how things have Changed, over the years. That tool was several hundred dollars, back in the day, and now its less than a case of beer to own one...

Lol
Attached Thumbnails What did you do to your Gen 1 today?-capture-_2018-03-18-09-00-03.png  
Old 03-18-2018, 08:33 AM

Received 340 Likes on 239 Posts
I ordered a new set of Isspro gauges (pyro, boost and fuel pressure) from Thoroughbred Diesel they will be here tomorrow. I have a glowshift pillar pod I'm going to mount them in, not really happy with it but will make it work, also bought the fuel pressure isolator, it was a bit spendy but I figured it would keep the fuel out of the cab. I will try to post some pics of the install when I do it
Old 03-18-2018, 08:38 AM

Received 2,385 Likes on 1,575 Posts
Originally Posted by maybe368
Thanks Oliver, I think that it was -10 F..I really like how you say "not that cold" and "-15" in the same sentence ...Mark
It was unexpectedly cold last night at -22F. My 1/2 full jug of straight antifreeze was insulated under 2 1/2 feet of snow, so that is not much of a test. I did check the radiator on Poncho that spent the night in the pole barn it was totally happy.