Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   1st Gen. Ram - All Topics (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/1st-gen-ram-all-topics-93/)
-   -   Parts to build an A518 to hold 350hp? (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/1st-gen-ram-all-topics-93/parts-build-a518-hold-350hp-332203/)

Torque_Junkie 07-02-2019 01:15 PM

Parts to build an A518 to hold 350hp?

I'm pretty new to the diesel world and I have an experienced gentleman rebuilding my VE pump, injectors, and turbo. He tells me that it will create a lot of low end torque (and 350hp), I need to build up my transmission to hold the power. Exactly what do you guys recommend in parts/mods to get me there? I will not be pulling, this is just a daily/fun truck. Thanks in advance for whatever help can be offered.

j_martin 07-02-2019 09:08 PM

A shift kit (valve body kit), good clutches and bands, and a few hard parts, I forget what, but it isn't much. If you're not pulling a load, you'd probably like the stock torque converter better than a low stall converter. On the other hand, a low stall converter taakes some of the strain off the transmission because of a lower converter ratio.
Oh, and I almost forgot. The weakest part is the stock flex plate. How do I know?

https://cimg8.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.die...2025555f9c.jpg

Torque_Junkie 07-02-2019 09:14 PM

So how do I get said parts? And how do I know what parts are overkill and what aren't enough? (I'd rather go overkill, I just want to know where to spend more or less)

j_martin 07-03-2019 07:26 PM

Transgo shift kit.

1835910 Platinum Series SFI 29.1 Rated Steel Flexplate $140 or so on eBay

I like the Goerend Torque Converter. I pull pretty heavy though.

There's a couple of build threads in the FAQ section of this forum.

Torque_Junkie 07-03-2019 08:37 PM