1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

NEWBIE!!! Pyro temps?

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2003, 12:28 AM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
NEWBIE!!! Pyro temps?

Just picked up a '92 W250 CTD auto with O/D. Has 200,000kms and is in excellent shape. Have a few questions though. It is currently stock except it already has a RPM gauge and Pyro temp gauge. What is a comfortable cruising RPM and what is the DANGER ZONE for the pyro temps? The sensor is in the turbo housing on the exhaust side and I hit 900* pulling a long hill at WOT with a 8.5ft camper on.

Also any idea what size my turbo is? What sort of tweaking can I do to improve power and gas milage? (Go ahaead and get technical, I'm a HD mechanic by trade).

What about bug screens for the front? I usually don't use them as they slow airflow but I thought it might save wear and tear on the intercooler.

Thanx in advance. BTW if it makes a differnce I'm in Calgary Alberta(no inspections).

Old 08-01-2003, 01:16 AM
Chapter President

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Re:NEWBIE!!! Pyro temps?

Hey, Welcome aboard!!!

You are in good company here.. I am in Lacombe Ab, and there are a bunch of us around the ol Cowtown..

I am guessing that your pyro is pre-turbo? If it is you usually want to keep it under 1250°F for extended periods, If its post turbo, depending on your engine speed and load 900 to 1000° max.

As for the turbo, you may have to look at the casting numbers on the exhaust housing to see what you have. The stock housing on a 92 is a 21 cm, and is quite slow on the spool up. But if the previous owner has done a bit of work, it may have a different housing.

The tweaks are endless for the amount of power and performance you want. Poke around here for a bit and see if anything tickles your fancy and then we can help out.

J-eh
Old 08-01-2003, 10:23 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post