1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

ignition and door woes

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2018, 12:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question ignition and door woes

i have two issues that's driving me crazy right now

first issue, critical: when I put my key into the ignition it turns further now than usual to engage the starter, then it stays there, up till yesterday i was fine with this, now the cylinder gets stuck in the engage (start) position being most of my mechanical time was with military vehicles i have little knowledge in keyed systems, so i'm not sure if it's the cylinder or the starter switch itself (i'm deducing it's a return spring that finally broke) and that's all I need is to buy the wrong part for a mission critical piece of equipment

so as any old school former army mechanic I'm reaching out to see if anyone has had this issue as well, helps me narrow it down

second issue, more of a PITA than anything drivers side door lock is binding somehow and the door lock will not release all the way (gets to the point of releasing the lock and just stays there) does this both with the key, the automatic lock and the manual (pull the lock button up) only unlocks when you physically open the door from the inside. again since my mechanical expertise was on us military equipment which a door locking system is a whole other animal i'm stumped here as well

thanks for any and all advice
Old 02-04-2018, 01:16 PM

Received 1,038 Likes on 763 Posts
Originally Posted by madmanmechanic
i have two issues that's driving me crazy right now