1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Head gasket replacement , block clean up advise?

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2018, 06:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Head gasket replacement , block clean up advise?

I'm currently replacing the head gasket on my truck. It's my first time doing a head gasket so I wanted to seek the advice of those who have experience on a couple of things; as I definitely want to make sure its done right and I don't damage anything.

After I got the head off I took it to a a machine shop to have it cleaned and checked for cracks ,flatness etc.

Upon inspecting the deck of the block I noticed a few things that caused me concern.

The first is what appears to be light scoring in cylinder # 3. I've had the truck for 6 years and do oil analysis regularly and everything is always good also have very little blow by. I can't feel it with my finger nail. What do you guys think?

The next thing is I have what appears to be a pretty heavy carbon or soot build up on the ridge of the cylinders and on the pistons(I'll attach pictures). Does this look abnormal or bad? What is the best way to clean this build up?

Could anybody give me advice on cleaning the deck of the block up? I searched and found most folks use razors to scrape and brake clean and green scrub pads. Bu then I saw a few posts that said never use the scotch bite type pads as the fibers are hard to get rid off and can cause bearing issues.

Any insight is appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails Head gasket replacement , block clean up advise?-image.jpeg  
Old 03-07-2018, 06:46 PM

Another picture
Old 03-07-2018, 06:50 PM

Cylinder scoring
Old 03-08-2018, 05:07 AM

Received 262 Likes on 163 Posts