Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   1st Gen. Ram - All Topics (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/1st-gen-ram-all-topics-93/)
-   -   gov spring kit (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/1st-gen-ram-all-topics-93/gov-spring-kit-61657/)

rebal 02-19-2005 06:20 PM

gov spring kit install ??

i have read the tech section on installing the 3200 rpm spring in the VE pump and last night i ordered 1 ...I would like to know from those who have installed one is it a fairly strait forward install or am I in for any suprises once i get it apart?and how long will it take?I am a fairly good mechanic and own every tool sears has and then some if that helps any[redface]

edwinsmith 02-19-2005 08:18 PM

Do you have a left handed monkey wrench?

:D

BigBully 02-19-2005 08:25 PM

Its not the Funnest job in the world but its not all that bad and really helps if you have small hands. Getting the new spring back in place is the hardest part.

rebal 02-20-2005 12:08 AM

i have a left and right handed monkey wrench and 2 widgets

Monty 02-20-2005 01:47 PM

Its pretty straight forward as others mentioned. The main thing to remember is keep things clean! A little dirt in the pump can do alot of damage.

John H 02-20-2005 07:54 PM

Re: gov spring kit install ??

Originally posted by rebal
i have read the tech section on installing the 3200 rpm spring in the VE pump and last night i ordered 1 ...I would like to know from those who have installed one is it a fairly strait forward install or am I in for any suprises once i get it apart?and how long will it take?I am a fairly good mechanic and own every tool sears has and then some if that helps any[redface]