1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

EGT question for school project.

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2010, 07:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
EGT question for school project.

Hi all,

I am a student in engineering and as part of senior design project I need to know some information for my project model. Pretty much what it comes down to is I need to know the difference in temperature of exhaust gas before and after the turbo. Let's assume we are talking about cruising speed of 60 in overdrive in standard conditions (approximately 70 F), what ever that rpm may respond to. I know, it changes based on turbo and from truck to truck, but I just need a decent estimation to see if the project idea is worthwhile. So if some of you run gages pre-turbo, please let me know what kind of temperatures you are seeing. Same for post turbo. Also, do you guys happen to know if you would see similar temperatures in spark ignition engines?

The help is really appreciated. Thank you!
Old 12-09-2010, 08:40 PM

Received 23 Likes on 15 Posts
When I moved mine from down pipe to manifold with no other changes to the engine I saw a 250 to 300*. So for an example at 55 post turbo I would sit about 400* and pre turbo 750*. I give the range because it was different between hard accel and regular crusing. But that should get you in the ball park, good luck on senior project.
And gas engines......? don't have a pyro on my lawnmower.
Old 12-09-2010, 08:57 PM

Awesome! That's what I expected, and agrees from what others have told me as well.
Old 12-10-2010, 06:58 AM

Originally Posted by RussianVolk
Hi all,