Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   1st Gen. Ram - All Topics (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/1st-gen-ram-all-topics-93/)
-   -   Coverting an '89 to intercooled (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/1st-gen-ram-all-topics-93/coverting-89-intercooled-331923/)

DISLSMOKE 04-25-2019 10:30 AM

Coverting an '89 to intercooled

Hey guys, I have looked at numerous old threads and stickies on the conversion. I have been restoring my '89 W250 from the ground up for the last 4 years, just takes time and money. Currently I have a complete 93 intercooler and tubes laying around. I have a mint '93 gasser rad support and grill, yes I will have to cut it up. But my real question is will I have to convert everything over to a cross flow radiator due to running the 727 tranny? Or can I stick with the original rad. The conversions I have read most are running a 5 speed. If I go crossflow I will have to change out the fan hub, thermostat housing, and fan pulley correct? Wanna do this once and done. Thanks.

oliver foster 04-25-2019 10:36 AM

Add clutch fan and fan shroud to your list if you want to go that route.

You will need the turbo with the 90* elbow and intake horn as well to round out the list.

I don't know much about how much cooling an auto needs, as I don't run them.
I would guess how much power you are making and how you use it in the end makes a big difference.

DISLSMOKE 04-25-2019 12:05 PM

I have a HX35 to put on the truck. And I have a fan and clutch off a 97. Guess I'll do some digging on parts. Before I tore the truck down I could hit some high EGTS pulling hills, and figured while I'm building this truck It would be in best interest to put an intercooler in it,

oliver foster 04-25-2019 12:19 PM

For the amount of custom work you are looking at doing I would look into using the much bigger 2nd gen intercooler, boots, tubes and intake horn.