1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Block heater check

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2016, 11:06 PM

Received 52 Likes on 31 Posts
Block heater check

Evening gents... bitter cold here tonight (-26C) ... I've been plugging my old beater in at night for several months now because I don't have the ECM in her for the grid heaters so ... plugged her in at lunch today at work and at 4:30 quitting time she was HARD to start and belching smoke ...

Is there a way to check the block heater to make sure it is good? I do have a lighted end on the cord side so I know I have power to the block heater ... ???

SD
Old 12-05-2016, 11:29 PM

Received 1,038 Likes on 763 Posts
Originally Posted by Ol-dodge 1992
Evening gents... bitter cold here tonight (-26C) ... I've been plugging my old beater in at night for several months now because I don't have the ECM in her for the grid heaters so ... plugged her in at lunch today at work and at 4:30 quitting time she was HARD to start and belching smoke ...

Is there a way to check the block heater to make sure it is good? I do have a lighted end on the cord side so I know I have power to the block heater ... ???

SD
I just put an ohm meter on mine and it measured 18.7 ohms on my digital meter. It should be a resistor heater element not unlike those in an electric water heater. I live in SoCal now so I doubt I'll need it again.
Old 12-05-2016, 11:33 PM

Thank you sir ... I'll check it in the morning... would there be any benefit of 2 block heaters or is there even 2 frost plugs in the engine block?
Old 12-05-2016, 11:52 PM

Received 1,038 Likes on 763 Posts
Thank you sir ... I'll check it in the morning... would there be any benefit of 2 block heaters or is there even 2 frost plugs in the engine block?