1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

1993 Ram Cummins 3500 brake proportioning valve ?

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2010, 03:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry 1993 Ram Cummins 3500 brake proportioning valve ?

I've been a mechanic all my life but this one has me stumped . Brake pedal goes almost to floor "sometimes" . Master cylinder right ? I replaced it with a new one , same problem . So I returned it and got another new one , Pressure bled system . Same problem . Feels just like air in system . Anyway since the truck is old and its worked a hard life , I went ahead and completely rebuilt the brake system . New front rotors , rebuilt calipers /pads . Replaced the drums in rear / new linings / wheel cylinders / spring kits and self adjusters . All 3 brake hoses . Booster and hose to vacuum pump . I even bypassed the RWAL valve to test . Same problem . I cant believe it . The only thing NOT replaced is the proportioning valve . The part is no longer available from dealer and nobody carries one at the parts houses . Nothing in the wrecking yards around here either .

This truck is making me feel like an idiot .

Would a valve from a 3/4 or 1/2 ton Dodge work ? Any other valve from another manufacturer work ?

Any advice , I'm whipped on this one and not even sure the proportioning valve is the culprit at this point but its all thats left ... just a hunch .

Thanks for reading this and any advice

Bob
Old 06-03-2010, 07:43 AM
I grad-u-ated frum Claudes skool of tpying....

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I used one off an 88 d-250 gasser on my 93 w-250 diesel it worked but I don't know as it would be something you want to do , aweek after I put mine on I flipped my truck and toteled it , and i'm not sure as to the valve might have been part of the issue, hopefully somebody else on herewill know more then me jm2c