12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

thermostat question from a newbie.

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2013, 09:49 AM

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
thermostat question from a newbie.

As the title states, I'm a newbie, and look forward to asking some questions, and even answering some (if I can!) on this forum. My question regards the oddball temperature action on my '96 12 valve. It has 93,000 miles, and a couple of years ago, I noticed that the temp gauge never climbed off cold. I replaced the thermostat and flushed the cooling system. The t-stat is from NAPA. When the gauge now climbs to 190 it falls off to 140, climbs back, falls off and so on. Wondering if it's the t-stat, or the sending unit. Any ideas?
Old 02-16-2013, 11:46 AM

Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts
That's normal operation for a stock thermostat. There has been lots of discussion of this over the years. I like this because with a little deduction I can figure out relatively how hot the radiator water is by the action of the gauge needle. This comes in handy for me while towing in hot weather.
Old 02-16-2013, 12:58 PM

Thanks. Out of curiousity, I bought a t-stat from a local Cummins dealer, but haven't installed it yet. The one I replaced a couple of years ago was the original and must have been stuck open. I just wondered if the one from NAPA wasn't as good as oem.
Old 02-17-2013, 09:33 AM
Banned

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
The book says this is 100% totally normal, especially under load - but it's not. I believe this was an attempt to "fix" a design flaw. The book says it's normal, thus MOST people are satisfied with this and don't worry about it. Not me. Rushing cold water though a hot engine is a good way to crack a head. Ask me how I know!