12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

Synthetic Grail.

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2018, 08:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Synthetic Grail.

Hi gang. New here, have been reading a lot of forums and have read all kinds of opinions.
I’m an old diesel mechanic, been working on commercial trucks for 25 years. I purely HATE late model common rail aftertreatment restricted bs.

After searching a year, I bought a really clean ‘96 regular cab longbed 2wd 5spd a couple of years ago. It has an AFC Live and max travel kit and a boost elbow. Love the truck, but it didn’t take long to decide I really wanted a 12valve 4x4 5speed quad cab SRW long bed. I looked at everything posted from the east coast to Oklahoma for about a year. They’re all either rusted out, beat up, or both. Had about 20k cash earmarked for the right truck and just didn’t find it.

So...I finally decided to build what I want and how I want it. Bought a ‘96 club cab 2500 4x4 longbed manual SLT Laramie with 185k for 5800. Then bought a 2000 gasser quad cab in the dark green I wanted anyway and swapped the cab and front clip. The truck had been a farm truck, so I found a nice ‘01 model bed to replace the hammered original.

Under the hood, I’ve installed a Power Driven Diesel package that should be plenty for my old man sleeper needs. If you’ve seen the Diesel Tech Magazine video, that’s basically the setup. Injectors, delivery valves, governor springs, AFC live,pump mods, boost elbow, timing at 17deg, etc. first romp around the block convinced me of the need for a better clutch.

So... at this point I’m pulling the transmisson. I have the South Bend 13” clutch and flywheel ready to go in, and a 4” Diamond Eye stainless exhaust to install as well. That’s where we’re at