12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

ABS and Brake light

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2010, 05:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ABS and Brake light

before you all flame me, i have searched and searched. i cant seem to find the right answer. could be the sensor in the rear end, could be some switch on the brake pedal. I want to know exactly what it could be.

light comes on as soon as i hit about 40MPH and i loose me cruise control.

those that have fixed this problem, please provide part numbers for parts replaced and procedures to fix. im not a professional mechanic but i am engine savy and know what im doing.
Old 05-24-2010, 05:47 PM

Check your vacuum lines. My truck did not do exactly as yours, but my cruise didn't work at all. I had a vacuum leak, not bad enough to disable things, but enough to mess up the ABS and render the cruise useless. Now both work great.
Old 05-26-2010, 11:24 PM

where was the leak? brake and abs lights have been on in my truck for years. I've replaced the rear wheel speed sensor(that wasn't it), brake light switch on the pedal(that wasn't it). basically I gave up. I put two pieces of electrical tape on the dash to cover the lights so I dont have to look at them. I would love to know what the prob is. I'm gonna watch this one.
Old 05-27-2010, 05:17 AM

somis13, does your cruise work? If not, vacuum may be your problem. From the vacuum pump, start tracing the vacuum lines, and look for breaks. I did not fix mine- it was in the shop getting a transfercase put in, and they found it with a smoke machine. I hadn't looked for a bad vacuum line, because I didn't realize that the abs relied on vacuum. Fixed it, though.
Old 05-27-2010, 07:10 AM
Administrator

Received 171 Likes on 129 Posts
Originally Posted by somis13
where was the leak? brake and abs lights have been on in my truck for years.