Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums

Dodge Diesel - Diesel Truck Resource Forums (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/)
-   12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/12-valve-engine-drivetrain-100/)
-   -   97 47rh help (https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/forums/12-valve-engine-drivetrain-100/97-47rh-help-331787/)

99farmtruck 03-25-2019 08:05 AM

97 47re help

I'm new to the automatic world 5 speeds are my specialty but I got a deal I could not pass up on a 97 12v that a guy payed to have a new frame put under 4 years ago and its beautiful. The man claimed the tranny was out of it and had everything to put a new one in including a reman tranny. I have a feeling that it is not fully the tranny though. When going up through the gears it seems like its slipping a lot no matter the rpm most noticeably 1800-2000 but acts like a belt driven snowmobile from a stop. The gear shift is off as well, all but park, neutral on the dash is reverse, Reverse on the dash is neutral, and 2 is drive as from 2 it will shift through all the gears. I'm wondering if it may be an easy fix or just the torque converter or the misaligned shift linkage is causing it to only go half into a gear as the whole tranny that is in it is red or orange in color and i'm thinking it was built. The plate cover still has a tamper proof in so it has never been messed with. Would any of htis be a cause to hte issue or is the tranny just jacked? I'm knowledgeable enough to put the new one in but id hate to do it just to find out that it was something mis adjusted like a shift band, misaligned shifter or low pressure. Any help is appreciated Id rather save the new tranny for when this one is really jacked unless it is already.

91 w250 5 speed, fully restored safety red, hx40, fuel pin, injectors, 5" exhaust with break.
99 3500 farm truck, metallic blue 5 speed, 4" exhaust w/ break, waste gate welded, edge comp, 85,000 original miles 0 rust.