Cummins Conversions Discuss conversions here. For instance, if you want to put a REAL engine in a FORD, this is where you would talk about it!

77 Dodge Ramcharger 4bt conversion.

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2013, 10:42 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
77 Dodge Ramcharger 4bt conversion.

Hey Guys,
I'm new to the forum. But, not new to Dodge trucks, Jeeps, and the CTD. I have recently completed the 4bt conversion on my 77 Ramcharger. I have been building the RC for the last six years.
I started off by lifting it 5 inches and swapping in rebuilt D60s out of a 78 Dodge W300. While rebuilding the axles, I installed a Detroit Truetrac in the front D60 and a Detroit Locker in the rear HD60.
After the lift and axle swap, I discovered by running the VIN that my RC was originally a BB 440 truck. A previous owner had yanked the 440 and installed a 360. By the time I bought the RC, the 360 had become noisy and tired. That's when I got the idea of a 4bt swap into the RC and started researching and buying parts one or two at a time. By June of this year, I had collected most everything I needed to start the conversion and completed it by the end of September.
Here's what I ended up with...4bt, rebuilt 46rh, NP241, hybrid 205/241 shifter, and Dodge Intrepid electric radiator fans. A host of other mods and nickels and dimes as well.
I've discovered that the 4bt in stock configuration is a bit under powered. I'll be installing the 366 (3200 governor) spring in the VE pump and turning up the pump shortly.
Anyway, here's a pic and video.

Mike
Attached Thumbnails 77 Dodge Ramcharger 4bt conversion.-poser2.jpg  
Old 11-02-2013, 08:47 AM
Administrator

Received 171 Likes on 129 Posts
Way cool! If I could have found a decent pop top Ramcharger, I would probably have mine done by now as well.

As it was, like you say, going topless is a MAJOR hoot, so when I finally found a 72 Blazer in my price range that wasn't slap rusted away, I changed directions.