3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Help plz a lot of issues

Old 01-03-2017, 06:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help plz a lot of issues

Ok I'm new to diesels I have a 2006 2500 big horn with 5.9 just got it and having weird problems.

1. Win I turn key on sometimes I see grid heater light the little coil or spring looking light. Mostly I don't see nothing after all lights go off the Ck engine light will blink several times then stop. So is this normal to not see the grid heater light every time and for the Ck eng light to flash?

2. My radio works sometimes most of the time it don't have power or at least nothing will come on except time win u press it

3. My rpm gauge started messing up pretty sure I can fix that with the shim trick

4. Win I was trying to figure out what the grid heater light was doing I started truck ran for few mins then I cut it off and batteries did not have enough juice to start truck is this normal for the truck to not be able to start two times in a row? I took both battery's to auto parts store to have them checked out of truck and they said both were good and the cca was at what batteries were suppose to be at but one of the batteries was low on charge but good juSt needed to be charged back up. With different battery's in truck now from another truck I drove truck to auto parts to have the whole system checked with truck running it said altnator was bad not putting out enough amps so I took it off and went to get a new one and they tested it on machine and it said it was good *** took to another place said it was good not sure what to do from here thanks for any help
Old 01-03-2017, 06:36 PM
DTR Detective

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Grid heater light is normal.