24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

The Finer Points of Driving a Diesel Truck

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2014, 11:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The Finer Points of Driving a Diesel Truck

I am new to diesel trucks. Bought my 2000 Ram 2500 in December and have been loving every mile in it. There are a few things I've been thinking about and would like to know some opinions, facts etc.

Engine Braking:
-Is any fuel being burned while engine braking?
-Does fuel still circulate through the VP44?
-Does the engine cool down more going down a hill in gear or in neutral?

Idling:
-Is there considerably more wear and tear from starting and stopping a diesel engine?
-How long before its worth shutting the engine off rather than keeping it at idle? (I've heard 10 minutes)

Warm-up:
-From 40 *F how long should I idle before driving?
-Do higher or lower RPMs produce more heat?

Fuel Efficiency:
-What is the best RPM to shift at to maximize fuel economy?
-Best RPM to cruise highway at for max MPG?
-Start in 1st gear or 2nd gear (unloaded, on level ground with 4.10's)

I know, a lot of questions, I appreciate any shared knowledge!
Old 03-18-2014, 11:50 PM

Received 1,332 Likes on 862 Posts
Might want to post this in the 2nd Gen section....your 2000 is a few years newer then our 1st Gen's (89-93)...
Old 03-19-2014, 01:31 AM
Administrator

Received 232 Likes on 161 Posts
Going down a hill in neutral is not only illegal but it is suicide.
Old 03-19-2014, 10:26 AM

Received 148 Likes on 127 Posts
^^^Second that! Not a good idea or standard practice.

I think you are getting the million mile a gallon fever...easy now!

Yes, the engine still receives fuel during engine braking, just the idle amount, which saves a lot more fuel than feeding it with the pedal.

From what I have read the vp needs to constantly have fuel in it and circulate it when turning...