24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

2000 24 valve lots of issues

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2016, 08:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2000 24 valve lots of issues

Alright guys, so I'm new to a diesel truck. I'm getting a 2000 24 valve 4x4 auto tranny but it has some problems.
It needs the steering gear box replaced (something I can do by myself I think?) seems simple enough with a pitman arm puller and some lineman wrenches.

Tappet cover gasket needs replaced (have shop do it)

Needs fluids flushed/filled (pretty much all of them)

Need park nutural switch, as well as a crankshaft position sensor. I think I'm going to try to do the crankshaft position sensor myself it seems simple besides dropping the starter. Comments?

The tach flutters when in low gear like it can't decide where to go. I was thinking its due to the crank sensor but possibly a torque converter.....advice?

Few other minor seals and gaskets that need replaced along with a few other minor cosmetic/operational items inside the cab and what not.

I'm getting the truck for around 5k with 225k miles on it and ive got 4K or so to throw at it.
The lift pump and injection pump really scare me about these trucks though, I know they are prone to go out and I know they are very expensive as well. Anything I can do to prevent it or anything I should always be checking or looking for. Or if anybody has any other general knowledge tips that a guy should know it would be appreciated.
Old 10-29-2016, 11:07 AM
Administrator

Received 40 Likes on 34 Posts
Welcome to DTR!

I've never replaced a steering box so I can't advise on that.

Valve cover gasket is pretty straight forward, is easy to replace.

Changing fluids when getting any used vehicle is a good idea.

Neutral safety switch, what makes you think you need one of those?