1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

White smoke issue

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2016, 09:46 PM

Received 27 Likes on 16 Posts
White smoke issue

Hey guys, I've been lurking for a while and trying to learn the diesel ways. I'm a mechanic by trade, but we never really mess with diesels. Anyways, a few weeks ago I picked up a 90 w250 5spd, completely unmolested, completely stock, one owner, and well maintained. I drove it a bit, 2 tanks of fuel. When I bought the truck, it wouldn't shutoff with the key and he had a choke cable hooked to it. Over the weekend I installed a 3200rpm gov spring, and while I was messing with it I removed the fso solenoid, there was metal shavings stuck to it. I cleaned them off, tested the solenoid, and reinstalled it. Everything worked great. I had a few times where it wouldn't start and suspected the fso was weak, but continued to drive it. Before leaving work yesterday, I decided to rotate the fuel pin and noticed minimal if any difference while driving to the daycare to get my kid. When we went to leave, it wouldn't start. After sitting and messing with it(tried starting fluid as well) for about an hour and a half it finally started up, got home and parked it. Later I came out and gutted the fso, and went for a test drive. Felt like it had more power(suspecting it was never fully opening?), Came back home and let it idle, noticed it was smoking a lot. I'm not sure if the smoke occurs before the test drive or not. Messed with it today again after work, the smoke seems white with a slight grey hue, but more white then anything. Cooling system is not over pressurized, no signs of losing coolant. It idles a bit rough and seems to be idling a bit higher then usual, but it smoothes out in the higher rpm range. I returned the fuel pin to the factory location first, which sightly reduced the smoke. T