1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Torque converter

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2015, 11:24 AM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Torque converter

I have been driving the same truck to the same job for many years now. The exit ramp off the highway is a long straight one with a turn at the end. I will say I am going 65mph because I am sure that I would never knowingly exceed the posted speed limit, anyway coasting down the ramp at 75 my truck does not slow down as much as it used to, but my rpm's do seem to fall. Do torque converters wear out like this or do I have other problems..... I should specify that this is a 3 speed 727 with 307 gears.
Old 06-28-2015, 02:32 PM

Received 209 Likes on 152 Posts
Originally Posted by mudbuster
I have been driving the same truck to the same job for many years now. The exit ramp off the highway is a long straight one with a turn at the end. I will say I am going 65mph because I am sure that I would never knowingly exceed the posted speed limit, anyway coasting down the ramp at 75 my truck does not slow down as much as it used to, but my rpm's do seem to fall. Do torque converters wear out like this or do I have other problems..... I should specify that this is a 3 speed 727 with 307 gears.
Happened to me with a Goerend low stall converter. One reason I installed it is that I rely on engine braking with an exhaust brake for downhill control of the double trailer rig.

I was told that the coupling between the pump, stator, and turbine is quite close, and is pulled a slight bit tighter by the forces generated by acceleration. Conversely, it is driven apart slightly by the forces of deceleration.

1. It's possible that worn thrust parts could open the gap enough to decouple it in deceleration. Acceleration would not be affected.