1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Kdp ???

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2015, 11:04 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Kdp ???

Good evening gents ... I've read a lot about the killer dowel pin in CTD engines ... As I have said in my other posts I'm not much of a mechanic and I'm totally new to diesels. So the question is.... 1).How do I determine if my truck needs this modification. (1992 w250, automatic transmission and apx.160,000 miles)... 2). How big of a job is it... And 3).will peening the dowel hole with a punch do just as good for a fix

Thanks again for any rivers of knowledge that pour this way
Old 12-26-2015, 11:51 PM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
When i jumped a tooth on my injection pump i had to pull the radiator, harmonic balancer, fan, fan shroud but I'm sure you could jump a tooth without all of this. I wanted to kill my dowel pin and change the timing cover gasket for peace of mind so that's why i went the long route. My rig had roughly 100k when i did this and my dowel pin was so far in that i could hardly see it. Nevertheless i left it alone, i should have tabbed it while i was in there but there were no signs of movement so i just left it. Not sure of any other way to check other than pulling the oil fill tube and fighting a bore scope in to look at it. Probably no help but figured I'd throw my in
Old 12-26-2015, 11:59 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I'm pretty sure I have read several places that the problem was with "B" series engines and started around 93-94????

How can I tell what series my engine is? Are 92s effected by KDP?
Old 12-27-2015, 12:09 AM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts