12 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Talk about the 12V engine and drivetrain here. This is for 1994-1998.5 engine and drivetrain discussion only.

i must be missing something

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2012, 07:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
i must be missing something

94 Ram.. rebuilt calipers and new front hoses. under 50% braking force it pulls hard right and if you stay on the pedal it corrects itself back to the left. Rear abs only. rear brakes adjusted 2 weeks ago. it didnt have any effect on the problem. system was flushed when calipers were rebuilt and hoses replaced. what am i overlooking???
Old 04-24-2012, 07:54 PM

I have to guess there's still air in the lines, but I work on small planes for a living.... They have simple systems but air is air. Good Luck
Old 04-24-2012, 10:40 PM

Received 44 Likes on 39 Posts
The 94s had lots of that type of issue. If you have the access to Dodge service bulletins, there's a big one called "chassis dynamics" that helps to diagnose this type of situation.

One big aid in diagnosing it is to determine whether it yanks the steering wheel when it veers off to one side, or does it veer off while the steering wheel stays straight ahead. If it does yank the wheel, I would first try swapping the front brake pads from side to side to see if that changes the direction of the pull. Pads that have been overheated or abused is a leading cause of erratic braking on these trucks. There is also a spec for clearance between the caliper and knuckle, at the top or bottom, on each side. I've found this to be fairly critical too.

Anyway, if you locate and read through that bulletin, there's lots of checks to be made, and it's surprising the things that can actually contribute to this condition. I went through this on dozens of 94s when they were still new and under warranty. Hope this helps.
Old 04-25-2012, 08:15 AM

Its strange to me that its only 94s for the most part...did they change that much in the 95 to take care of these issues?