2nd Gen. Dodge Ram - No Drivetrain Discussion for all Dodge Rams from 1994 through 2002. Please, no engine or drivetrain discussion.

Newbie with issues

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2005, 05:43 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie with issues

Im totally new to diesels and turbos alike so please take it easy on me if im totally asking retarded questions.

Ive been borrowing my inlaws 97 Dodge 3500 4x4 a/t dually for trash trips and runs to the local home depot etc.. basically every chance I get !. I just love the whine from the turbo and the crazy tq this thing has when the turbo decides to kick in. Lately the trucks been acting up. The trucks been surging Between 1500-2100 rpms under normal driving with and without load. It almost feels like while cruising in a manual car youd push in and then released a clutch. So I was hoping that maybe someone has dealt with this issue before and maybe can point us in the general direction of what could be the problem. Also my inlaw (real cool dude) is dying to start doing some mods. I have already ordered a cold air intake and looking at diffrent exhuast systems and adding some guages. The truck is completely stock. We are wondering how to go about adjusting the turbo boost to gain couple of pounds.

Thanx.
Old 09-21-2005, 06:55 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome to the board. There are no retarded questions and everyone is here to help as much as possible. What you describe sounds like a fuel system problem - but, don't worry it's fairly simple and you can do it yourself and git-r-done.