HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

P0251 code

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2007, 06:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
P0251 code

Ok guys i'm a newbie to diesel power. Just got this truck about a month ago. It now will not run. I checked the codes to find a P0251 which according to what i can find is the fuel pressure regulator on the injection pump. The question i have is there a source for just the regulator or do i have to bite the bullet as the dealer says and buy the whole pump. Thanks for any help. I guess i should mention that the truck is a 2004 Dodge ram 3500 with the 5.9.
Old 07-06-2007, 08:45 PM

Originally Posted by redneck7769
Ok guys i'm a newbie to diesel power. Just got this truck about a month ago. It now will not run. I checked the codes to find a P0251 which according to what i can find is the fuel pressure regulator on the injection pump. The question i have is there a source for just the regulator or do i have to bite the bullet as the dealer says and buy the whole pump. Thanks for any help. I guess i should mention that the truck is a 2004 Dodge ram 3500 with the 5.9.
More than likely, Your FCA (fuel control actuator) went bad. Call cummins w/your engine number or Industrial(vendor of your coosing) to get a new FCA. So you know, the FCA is located on the back of the injecton pump with a two wire connector leading to it. You may want to remove the plug, clean it and hook it back up again.

Richard
Old 07-07-2007, 04:23 PM

Scroll down in the "HELP" section and click on the "Cummins sounds like a Powerstroke"
I have the same issue and there is a test procedure posted on that thread.
Old 07-07-2007, 05:04 PM
DTR's 'Go to Guy'

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts