PDA

View Full Version : Cheapest upgrades to up hp in 1rst gen?

CruisingRam
02-23-2003, 01:40 AM
I am a total newbie to diesals and diesal performance, been building mopar gas motors forever though.<br><br>I want to do some upgrades to my motor, sure wouldn't mind being in the 300 horse range. It has some kind of gale banks exhaust system and intake filter/ fuel filter that is aftermarket, K&amp;N markers on them. Otherwise I think it is stock. <br><br>Is there a bolt on pump that gives more power? <br><br>I am not sure if I want the propane injection unless I can find a good place to mount the tank.

Craig93
02-23-2003, 04:44 PM
A good question, don't know why there are no responses yet, but while you are waiting you might find the answers to your questions in one of the previous posts, try a search or just read through some old posts, good reading regardless...<br>But from what I have gathered opening up the exhaust and making it breath in and out easier is a good place to start, and making some adjustments to your existing pump vs replacing it will add some hp and torque numbers, details are in the old posts....I would like to try tinkering with the pump but do not know enough about the effects on longevity or reliability, can't afford to compromise either at this point.

midwestdually
02-23-2003, 06:39 PM
injectors...turbo...i am no expert...so others will chime in as well

Bushy
02-24-2003, 12:59 AM
Lets assume you want 300 RWHP, that is daily driveable fairly decent EGT's and modest smoke...

You will get as close to that as possible by:
Working your VE pump up near max. (no other options at this time, but you never know about tomorrow.
You will need an upgraded turbo, PDR HX35/16 perhaps
Cam
Increased pump timing
Big honkin injectors... POD's minimum
Oh, fully pressure tested intercooler
Some (to date) sneaky internal mod(s) to the VE

Now that doesn't sound like too much, but it is a challenge getting there.